The Eredivisie is the highest football league in Netherlands. The league was founded in 1956 which was two years after the start of professional football in the country. The league has 18 teams with the bottom three teams relegated to the Eerste Eredivisie. The league tends to be dominated by four teams Ajax, PSV Eindhoven, FC Twente and Feyenoord, all of whom have red as a key aspect of their home kits.

Eredivisie Team Kits

The domestic cups are the KNVB Cup which is a knock-out cup and the Johan Cruijff Shield which is the equivalent of the the English FA Community Shield. Ajax, Feyenoord and PSV Eindhoven are the only clubs who have been in the top division since its existence in 1956. Ajax, Feyennord and PSV Eindhoven also have had the highest attendance by fans. The clubs averaged over 30,000 every match. Players such as Dennis Bergkamp, Johan Cruyff, Marco van Basten, Romario and Ruud Van Nistelrooy have played in the league.

Dutch Teams History

AFC Ajax, one of the most successful clubs in Dutch football history (1996 UEFA Champions League winners and the 1971, 1972 and 1973 European Cup winners), are known for their iconic red and white striped shirt. The “Godenzonen” (Sons of the Gods) have worn this distinctive design for decades, which has become synonymous with the club’s success and style of play. The Ajax kit has also featured prominent sponsors like Ziggo, ABN AMRO, and Adidas.

Feyenoord, another popular club in the Eredivisie & 2002 UEFA Cup winners, traditionally wear a red and white striped shirt, known as the “De Kuip,” named after their home stadium. The Feyenoord kit is recognised for its simple yet classic design, and the club’s crest is often prominently displayed on the shirt.

PSV Eindhoven, another successful club in the Eredivisie, has worn a red and white striped shirt, known as the “Rood-witten” (Red and Whites). PSV’s kit has evolved over the years, with variations in stripes and patterns, but has remained a symbol of the club’s rich history and passionate fan base. The kit has also featured notable sponsors like Philips and Umbro.

In addition to these traditional designs, other Eredivisie clubs have also worn unique kits. For example, AZ Alkmaar has worn a yellow and black striped shirt, while FC Utrecht has worn a red and white shirt with diagonal stripes. Vitesse Arnhem has worn a yellow and black striped shirt, and Willem II has worn a blue and white striped shirt.

Sponsorship has also played a significant role in Eredivisie kits, with prominent brands such as ABN AMRO, Philips, Ziggo, and Jumbo featuring as sponsors on the front of jerseys, providing financial support to the clubs and an iconic aspect of the history Dutch league kits.