Currently the SkyBet League 1 for sponsorship reasons, Football League One is the third highest division in the English football league system. It was known previously as the Football League Second Division and before the advent of the Premier League was introduced in 1992, it was the Football League Third Division.

There are twenty four teams that play each other twice (home & away) for a total of 46 games in a Football League One season, at the end of the season the top two clubs, are promoted to the Championship, along with the winner of a play-offs between the clubs finishing in 3rd to 6th position. They are replaced by the three lowest teams in the Championship, with the four lowest placed clubs relegated to League Two, replaced by the best four teams from that division.