Currently known as the SkyBet League 2 for sponsorship reasons, Football League Two is the fourth highest division in the English football league system. It was known previously as the Football League Third Division and the Football League Fourth Division prior to the launch of the Premier League in 1992.

There are twenty four teams that play each other twice (home & away) for a total of 46 games in a Football League Two season, at the end of the season the top three clubs, are promoted to the League One, along with the winner of a play-offs between the clubs finishing in 4th to 7th position. They are replaced by the four lowest teams in League One and the two lowest placed clubs are relegated to The Conference, replaced by the Conference champions and playoff winners.